Dungeness … a post-apocalyptic landscape

Yesterday Man and I discovered by accident the most amazing place – Dungeness in Kent.

We were road tripping along the south coast from Dover and stopped by on a whim (we had seen it on a documentary a few weeks ago).

It is like a post-apocalyptic landscape, a graveyard for old boats and sheds.

It is completely amazing and I want to live there. The whole area is a nature reserve and there is a power station behind the shingle beach. People live in huts and caravans and old railway carriages.

I was just doing a bit of research and if you want to film or take photographs for commercial purposes, you have to get the permission of the trustees and pay a fee (£400 for photography). One day I’m going to do a proper photo shoot there.

For hobby purposes you don’t have to pay. I’m going to presume my pictures from yesterday are for hobby purposes. I have heavily desaturated the photos because I thought the shots warranted it.

I am completely in love with this place.

6 comments
  1. As always your post is one of the few that really help to make my day a little more special. Thank you!

  2. Thank you so much, I am so glad you enjoy it and I really appreciate you taking the time to read it :)

  3. I came here from the Sussex trip which I really enjoyed … signs included!
    Good grief! I can understand why you like this place. The old boat is my favorite in the series from here. The place looks absolutely deserted. Don’t break a leg out there. ;-) I think you could do a whole picture book on this place. Don’t you?

    • I just think it has this amazing eerie beauty. I am really going to have to save up the £400 needed to do a proper commercial photoshoot there. It would be amazing.

      • I think so too. It is a strange and alluring place. I’ve really never seen a place like this. That photo shoot is worth the money!

Leave a comment