A walk around Attenborough Nature Reserve

011b

Attenborough Nature Reserve is one of my favourite places to go for a walk when I’m in Nottingham and it was a beautiful spring day on Saturday, so off Man and I trundled.

We went in search of kingfishers and opted for the 3.7 mile kingfisher trail. Sadly, other than a quick flash of turquoise just to taunt us, we failed miserably to capture the elusive kingfisher.

082b

I did, however, manage to capture my first long tailed tit. I like him, he’s very cute and fluffy. The following day at another of my favourite places Wollaton Hall, Man and I met a wonderful man who kept the amazing illustrated diaries of his walks and rambles. He did the most beautiful line drawings, sketches and watercolours in his diaries, along with nature notes about what he’d seen on his travels. They were absolutely beautiful and his drawings and paintings were a lot better than my photos! What a talent to have, I was quite envious.

Back to Attenborough and, although I failed to catch a kingfisher, there were lots of other birds to catch my attention.

105b

This noisy little chaffinch wasn’t remotely bothered by us. He was far too busy singing. Birds make sounds completely disproportionate to the size of their bodies.

045b

And great crested grebes were in abundance, both on the lakes and on the River Trent.

023b

We also found a lone grey heron wallowing about in the mudflats.

I love this time of year, everything starts coming back to life but there isn’t so much foliage that I can’t see the birds for the leaves.

019b

I like the buds and the blossom.

018b

The butterflies are reappearing again too. This one is a small tortoiseshell.

068b

There was colour in the people as well.

086b

And here’s that little long-tailed tit again.

I have a week off work this week and am spending the week at Man’s house. So I’m expecting to get out with my camera a lot more,

4 comments
  1. Luanne said:

    Beautiful photos!

  2. I have always loved the The Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady by Edith Holden….the illustrations, poetry and comments are beautiful. She would have loved having a camera like yours to document her sightings.

    • Oh wow I’d forgotten all about her, I remember having the book many years ago and finding it fascinating :)

Leave a Reply

