Hello again, it’s been a while

It's spring

It’s spring

Hello :) It’s been a long time – more than a long time, it’s been almost six months. I hope everyone’s well.

I spose saying I’ve been busy is a bit of a lame excuse after all this time. To be honest, I have been busy but it’s been more than that. I sort of lost my mojo.

I’m not sure why, a combination of a huge project at work, the rain (and not getting out to take photos), a lack of funds to go on road trips and just getting out of the habit.

So, Happy New Year, I will attempt to catch up on some favourite blogs and also will try and get back into the habit of blogging again.

I woke up this morning and realised I’d missed it.

Maybe it was because the sun was shining and it feels like spring is on its way.

I have actually been out taking some photos this weekend. A few favourite haunts – Fleet Pond, Horseshoe Lake, my garden – but also a new project, mainly for work.

173b

 

This one is Horseshoe Lake last night. It’s a bit of an experiment. I was trying to see what a sunset would look like in black and white. The flying ducks were just a bit of a happy accident.

038bAnd this one is Fleet Pond this morning.

I woke up and looked up. There’s a window above my bed and I always keep the blinds open a little bit so the first thing I saw was the sunshine.

Within 15 minutes I was in the car and at Fleet Pond by about 7.15am. The light was lovely and it would have been peaceful but for the din of the workmen creating some huge metal monstrosity on the neighbouring car park of the railway station.

But you can’t hear the noise in a photo, so it does at least look peaceful.

I met a very nice man walking in the opposite direction who asked me what they were doing at the railway station. We got chatting. He is an artist and the pond society has invited him to go and paint at a special weekend in May. I promised him some publicity.

And as for my special project … with the centenary of the First World War coming up, we decided it would be a great idea to try and document all the memorials to fallen soldiers within our circulation area. The problem is, there are more than 900 in Surrey and we haven’t counted the ones in north East Hampshire yet.

We thought we’d get photographs of all of them and then create a database of all the names on them so people looking for information about their relatives will be able to see the memorial where they are immortalised. Although I think we are going to have to crowd source this one and ask members of the public to help us.

St Johns Windlesham memorial bYesterday I visited Thorpe, Laleham, Chertsey, Longcross and Windlesham. This is the War Memorial at St John’s Church in Windlesham. I have transcribed all the names on each of them today.

This morning I photographed Yateley and Fleet. I transcribed the names from the Yateley memorial but I’m not sure which are the names for the First World War and which for the Second World War on the Fleet memorial so I haven’t done those yet.

But I will.

And I’ll be back on the church trail too.

The fifty before fifty challenge has rather taken a back seat recently so I now only have 18 months left to fulfill the challenges I set myself. If it wasn’t a big enough challenge to start with :)

15 comments
    • Thanks Rachel, I’m looking forward to catching up :)

  1. Hi Dory,
    It’s wonderful to see you back.
    It’s Nikki from what used to be “justacanadiangurl”. I got rid of that blog because of too many family and friends being able to see it and started a new one.
    I’m glad to have found you again and that you are blogging.
    I hope your man is well as well as your sweet girls!

    • Hey Nikki, I’m good thanks – and so is Man and those girls are still gorgeous. I’m going to head on over and follow you straight away :)

  2. Best wishes on your big project! Good to hear from you! I know what you mean about getting back to things after awhile away….

    • Thank you :) It’s going to take me a little while to catch up – hope you’re well

  3. So pleased to see your name in my e-mails. – have missed you Dory – so looking forward to enjoying your projects – especially churches !!!!!

    • Hi Valerie, thank you so much. I hope this means you’re back blogging again, I missed your posts very much x

  4. Anny said:

    It’s quality, not quantity that matters – glad to see you back.

    • Thank you so much – am looking forward to catching up again :)

  5. Thats a good job you are doing there with the war memorials and looking forward to more churches from your area :) ….love the swan photo :) good to see you back.

  6. That swan photo is stunning….wonderful reflections. Lovely to see you back in my reader :-)

    • It’s lovely to be back and I’m looking forward to reading your posts again :)

  7. Welcome back to the blogging world!

Leave a Reply

