Say it with flowers

684b

 

Hello blogging world, I’m home.

As I said in my last post, my little world has been extremely busy recently.

Within the space of two weeks we moved home (again!!), I took a new job (same company), got a new car (thank you company) and a new camera (well, second hand but YAY), one daughter went on holiday, one celebrated her birthday, we were broadband-less until we could get reconnected (boo) and loads of other things too.

But at the end of that pretty full-on fortnight, Man and I went on holiday to Northumberland … and what a fabulous county England’s most northern is.

Now partly because we packed so much in, partly because I am notoriously snap happy and partly because I have my new camera, I have shot more than 1,000 photos over the last 10 days :)

Don’t worry, I’m not going to subject you to all of them :) (some are rubbish). But there are an awful lot of stories to tell.

Northumberland has very few people, a distinct lack of straight roads and minimal internet connection (at least in the areas we were in) so blogging on the go wasn’t really an option.

We have visited beaches and rolling hills, castles and stately homes, pubs and restaurants, historic towns, memorials to incredible people, huge works of art and – I’m sure this won’t surprise you – a number of churches. And I plan to share a fair few of the pictures and stories on this blog (or my other ones) so be warned.

In fact there is so much to say, I don’t really know where to start.

We have ticked off a number of my Fifty before Fifty challenges. We stayed in our little tent, for example, and discovered that at 6ft 4, Man is very slightly too long for it and we probably need to get a slightly larger one.

We also visited Lindisfarne, which was on the list, and so many other beautiful places.

We took a trip out to the Farne Islands and photographed nesting sea birds and seals, and generally had a very packed and thoroughly enjoyable holiday – even the weather has been kind.

But to start with, I thought I’d show you one of the things that impressed me about Northumberland the most… the wildflowers.

Everywhere we went there were beautiful hedgerows and wildflowers growing out of walls and around fields.

One day, we rounded a corner in the road and were faced with a huge field of poppies and rapeseed that just stopped us in our tracks.

It was a stunning vista with hundreds of red and yellow flowers giving way to the green of the trees and in the back ground the pale sandy beach and blue sea of the Northumberland coastline. Just stunning.

Anyway, here you go. A quick introduction to Northumberland that I am saying with flowers.

 

7 comments
  1. First of all, congratulations on all things wonderful which happened to you recently. May you be happy in your new home! I started “drewling” over your photographs – just look at those poppyfields!. I am going to have my breakfast now and then I will devote some more time to your latest blog and those beautiful beautiful photographs. Carina :)

    • Nice to hear from you Carina and many thanks :). It was a beautiful area to visit

    • Thank you so much Valerie, it really was pretty :)

  2. Luanne said:

    Ah, gorgeous!!! And enjoy “home.”

  3. Stunning photos, sounds like you had a wonderful time, can’t wait to see some photos :)

Leave a Reply

