Scarecrows in Pirbright

Pirbright is a village in Surrey that I drive through every day on my journey to work.
Each year it holds a scarecrow competition at the beginning of summer. It’s next weekend.
And each year it advertises the event with a creation on the corner of the village green.
A few years ago there was an amazing Gruffalo and classes from the village school would sit around it and read the book.
I have also seen a wonderful Simpsons character. I’m not really a fan and I can’t remember which one it was.
This year there is a magnificent monster… Shrek.
I can’t wait to drag Man to the main event next weekend :)

20130531-221052.jpg

10 comments
  1. They have a lot in Norfolk and some of them are fantastic, look forward to the photos :)

    • I really am going to have to venture to Norfolk soon … there is so much I want to see and do there :)

      • Too much really :)

  2. Looking forward to the event !!! Pirbright looks for peaceful and green do they still have the Guards there?

    • Yes Valerie, the guards are still there :) and it is lovely and green, your quintessential Home Counties village :)

  3. What a great idea, I wonder if there is something similar near me?

    • I don’t know who creates the scarecrows to promote the event each year, but they are really good. Apparently Hickling has an annual scarecrow festival in September, but that’s the other end of the county to you isn’t it?

      • Yes it’s about as far away from me as it’s possible to get and still be in Nottinghamshire. But I’ve made a diary note to look into it in August all the same. Thanks for the tip Dory.

  4. steviepreater said:

    That Shrek is fantastic and terrifying in equal parts, I feel

    • The kids love him … and each year I look forward to seeing what creation is going to go on the corner of the village green :)

Leave a Reply

