I’ve found a new game

We all know how I like to go off on tangents … well I’ve found a new game.

It was completely accidental but, seriously, I just can’t help myself when I stumble across something I find interesting.

Man and I went to England’s smallest county Rutland the other day. The plan was to head to Oakham, the county town, to cross that off his lists (yes, he has lists too and his includes visiting every county town). By happy coincidence it also has a castle that is on my list.

The plan was to visit Oakham, stop at Rutland Water at one of the visitor centres around the reservoir, and then head to Stamford to tick off another church.

So we visited Oakham (that’s another story or two) then we stopped at the bird watching centre at Egleton. We didn’t have long but we had a look around a display inside the centre one of which showed you the old manor, farms, burial mound and village that had been flooded to create the reservoir.

They’d done what! Memories of an episode of the Village of Dibley sprung to mind where Dawn French chained herself to the front of the church in a bid to stop Dibley being flooded.

But it caught my imagination and when we got home I did a bit of googling and found

Lost Villages of England

Wikipedia’s entry on lost villages of the UK

and this one

Lost village site of Nottinghamshire

which is obviously specific to the area I am currently staying in.

So I had a look and found that that very afternoon we had been walking over the site of one of these lost villages.

We had been to Wollaton Hall taking photos of the deer and a kestrel. Looking on the lost villages websites I found the lost village of Sutton Passeys that was, apparently right under Wollaton Park.

So, a little more research and it appears that pre-Norman Conquest Sutton (or South Town) comprised two manors owned by the Saxons Brun and Aluric. It was given, with Wollaton, to the Peverill family after the Conquest and then to the Passeys family, which is when it became known as Sutton Passeys.

It then passed to the Willoughby’s and Sir Henry Willoughby is credited as the man who finally depopulated Sutton Passeys and enclosed it into the Wollaton estate in 1493.

And there the story might have ended, but for a guy called John Holland Walker in the 1920s.

He was the secretary of The Thoroton Society.  It’s still around today and is, says its website, “the county’s principal historical and archaeological society”.

Anyway, Mr John Holland Walker insisted that the name of Sutton Passeys be preserved for posterity. And so I present to you all that remains to remember the lost village of Sutton Passeys.

Sutton Passeys b

 

There are loads and loads and loads of other lost and abandoned villages on those websites … do you see where I am going here?

8 comments
  1. How exciting for you to try and find out about these long gone places. Living here in Canada we don’t have the same historical perspective on population of our areas but it is interesting to trace back as far as possible to settlements by our first nations people and settlers. There are lots of lost stories there waiting to be told.

    • I think that’s what it boils down too, the fact that I’ve never been able to resist a good story

  2. ali said:

    you are a wealth of knowledge Debs! My mum would love all this x

    • Lol … I think I’m just a bit of a geek Ali (but I think it’s fun :) ) thanks :)

  3. As Ali said above, Debs, you are truly a wealth of information and knowledge. You sure you have not been a History Teacher in an other life?? Students surely would have loved you.

    • Thanks :) I actually wanted to be an archaeologist when I was younger. I’m not quite sure how I ended up as a journalist! But I was the world’s worst history student because I wanted to know things that weren’t on the curriculum and I’d go off on tangents :)

  4. And I’m going with you Dory!
    So glad you’re back, I’ve missed you.Love your churches and villages, and birds and history

    • Thanks Valerie, I found myself running out of time. But it’s good to be back and I so enjoy my little explorations :)

Leave a Reply

