Finding colour on a grey day

I did manage to get out for a walk yesterday morning.

I went across the Common to the nearby airfield and then explored a bit more.

Then I crossed the road and walked across behind a scrapyard.

Then I got lost. You wouldn’t think it was possible to get lost so close to home, but it is.

I lost the path completely and ended up clambering through the undergrowth. I got stuck in the brambles several times and then finally slipped down a slope and fell over.

II now have a lovely bruise at the base of my thumb and it is quite swollen and sore. But it moves ok so I don’t think I’ve done enough damage to keep me off work (sadly) even if it is my right hand.

It was only later that I realised quite how mismatched I must have looked as I was walking around. Among the Christmas presents from gorgeous daughter number 2 was a pair of very funky pink, flowery wellie boots which I’d teamed up with some beige leg warmers to keep my khaki-coloured trousers tucked in.

Among the Christmas presents from Man was a pair of very funky fingerless gloves in oranges and reds with flip over mittens. They’re great, they’re lined and warm and I can flip the lid off and still operate the camera. They clash, however, with pink flowery wellies … and the blue and white striped sweatshirt I also had on.

Oh well, I never was very fashion conscious.

Anyway, nursing a sore hand and scratched legs from the brambles I got tangled up in, I eventually found my way to a main road about half a mile away from where I thought I’d be, which wasn’t too bad :)

I found lots of fungi and lots of interesting shapes and, because it was such a grey day, and I was wearing such an odd combination of colours, I set myself a little challenge of trying to find some natural colour.

These are the results – reds, yellows, greens … there was quite a lot of colour to my grey day when I actually looked for it :)

(Incidentally, I am still loving this gallery style)

6 comments
  1. Good for you getting out to walk…be sure to leave note about the direction you are headed in case you turn an ankle etc…love the outfit description….sounds perfect ! Your photos turned out very well. You have got me thinking about the winter colours here and appreciate them more.

    • Thank you :) My outfit was ummm interesting I think lol. Next time I’ll take a compass :)

  2. These are just beautiful. The world is wonderful when you get up close :-) I’m quite fascinated with litchens, we get some wonderful ones up in Plockton.

    • Thank you, I love the shapes and colours of litchens, they’re amazing :)

Leave a Reply

