Happy New Year

165bHello. Happy New Year to all, I hope the festive season was happy and harmonious for you all. I had a bit of a break over the last couple of weeks. It’s going to take me a while to catch up on everyone’s blogs.

This is one of  my favourite views of Nottingham. Taken from the Embankment looking towards Trent Bridge and the city.

You can see the sails of Green’s Windmill in the background on the left and I like the way the sun is catching the buildings and the bridge.

I had a great Christmas and New Year. Man came to mine on the Sunday before Christmas and we spent Christmas Day at my little sister’s house with my two gorgeous daughters, my sister, brother in law, two nephews and a neice, my parents and both my brothers and my brother in law’s mum and sister. We ate, drank and laughed lots.

In between Christmas and New Year I worked and it was busy as it always is and then Man and I returned to Nottingham on Friday after work to see New Year in here.

I have been to two parties this weekend. So unlike me, I don’t really do parties. But they were fun and I survived without hangover.

I always feel enthused about New Year (but then I feel enthused about a lot of things mostly – I’m a glass half full type of person).

Bizarrely, even though I am 47 and haven’t been to school for a long time, I still feel enthused about the future every September too – the start of a new school year.

I make lots of new year’s resolutions, yell about them loudly and then fail. So this year, I’m not telling anyone what they are.

Things worth doing are worth working for… and all the things I want to work for are worth persevering with and making efforts/sacrifices for.

A couple of things I do plan though: to post every day for the next 365 days on here and also my photoblog Dory’s Eye – none of me wittering on that one, just one photo a day.

And I have found a new iphone app which opens up the possibility of selling iPhone pictures – so one photo a day (at least) on there too.

I have lots of plans, things to do, see and experience – there is a big world out there and I want to taste as much of it as I can. I have churches to see and a Fifty before Fifty challenge to continue with. There are things to learn and read. Oh, so much to do :)

So I suppose the main new year’s resolution is the same as it always is – to live my life in the best and fullest way possible. I don’t think I fail at that one (it’s the specifics I usually fail at lol).

I hope everyone has a very wonderful new year and that 2013 is everything you want it to be.

This is the view behind me when I took the shot at the top of the blog. It’s the War Memorial. I like this view too.

Happy New Year one and all.

160b

 

 

Leave a Reply

