One last thing about Derby

Sometimes you visit somewhere that is just full of things you want to tell people about and so, although I have already waxed lyrical about Derby, its amazing car park, the town centre and the lovely St Werburgh’s Church, there is one more thing I want to show you.

059b

Derby Cathedral.

It’s a very welcoming place. I suppose you would expect that of any religious building. But in my experience you are often charged to get into a cathedral (Lincoln, Winchester, York Minster). Not in Derby.

It is smaller than some I have visited. It is just as beautiful though.

069bIt has a beautiful ceiling and in this picture you can see the Rood Screen made by Robert Bakewell, the same guy who created the font cover at St Werburgh’s.

071bI thought this was an interesting memorial. What else would you use for the man who made Royal Crown Derby Porcelain renowned but porcelain. But I’m not sure I have ever seen a porcelain memorial before.

076bThis is a memorial to Bess of Hardwick, one of the most influential and richest women in Elizabethan England and the woman who built Hardwick Hall and remodeled Chatsworth House.

She came from a good family but her wealth came from marriages. She married four times, each husband died and each left her a good percentage, if not all, of his wealth.

She was a force to be reckoned with.

074bUnderneath Bess’s memorial is this tiny little chapel, St Katharine’s Chapel. It is a place for quiet contemplation.

There has been a church on this site since around 943, but nothing of that remains now. The current cathedral dates from the 14th century and the tower from 1510-1530.

According to Wikipedia, the cathedral contains the oldest ring of ten bells in the UK, the 15th century tenor bell being older than the tower that houses it.

There are much newer additions to the cathedral, however.

075bThese stained glass windows are by the 20th century artist Ceri Richards, They are absolutely gorgeous.

084bThere are some interesting memorials and monuments in Derby Cathedral and it is well worth a visit.

I find religious buildings very atmospheric. they were setting up for a concert in the cathedral while we were there. I think I’d like to see a concert in a cathedral.

I’d also like to have a go at bell-ringing, just for fun you know. But I think I probably ought to wait until after the operation for my umbilical hernia before I attempt that lol.

Anyway, you will probably be relieved to know that that’s it for Derby, at least for the time being.

Man and I plan to return again when it’s a bit warmer and have more of an explore.

2 comments
  1. If you haven’t been there Hardwick Hall is well worth a visit technically not as grand as some of the other big houses but there is something magestic about it

    • Thanks, I haven’t been there, I’ll add it to the list :)

Leave a Reply

