Stitching up London

I took a little series of photos from the hill by the Royal Observatory on Sunday with the specific intention of doing this.

Stitching them together to get a panoramic city scape. I bet it looks brilliant up there after dark when it’s all lit up. And Man suggested we go back and have another go in the twilight one evening. Good plan Man :)

Now, I didn’t have the foggiest what I was doing and I am sure there is a foolproof way to do this in Photoshop, I, however, opted for the fool’s way and just created one big canvas onto which I dumped copies of I think four photos and tried to line them up as best I could.

I was reasonably pleased with it but I am sure there must be a better way. And as number whatever on my Fifty before Fifty challenge is to become expert in Photoshop, I feel it is probably time to open that very large Photoshop workbook I have and start practicing with some pictures.

This is me straddling the Meridian.

The other thing I need to do is to acquire a better technical knowledge of my camera and of photography. I know very little. And also to study other people’s work and practices. I need to learn more if I am going to be a better photographer.

I sense another mini project coming on.

I know I go off at tangents but most of my projects sort of overlap each other :) And, for some reason, it has become very important to me to develop my photography (excuse the pun) further.

The Camera Obscura at Greenwich.

I want to push my boundaries a bit and move on from just taking snapshots. So, as with anything, I need to practice and learn and apply some creativity and then practice and learn some more.

This is an amazing sundial at the Royal Observatory. The shadow created by the tails of the dolphins show’s what the time is – it was spot on.

Visiting a place like that really brings home that there is such a lot to discover in this amazing world of ours, whatever your sphere of interest.

It was the home of pioneering and discovery, of creativity and innovation and of exploration. These early astronomers really did know how to push the boundaries.

And it’s never to late to learn is it?

And then I might be able to create a panoramic shot that I’m really proud of :)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

