What a capital day out

How’s that for a skyline? The old buildings of Greenwich on the south side of the Thames and the modern of Canary Wharf  seen between them on the north of the river.

I love it.

Went to Greenwich yesterday and, in contrast to Saturday, it was the most beautiful late autumn day.

We drove round the south circular and found somewhere to park a lot easier than we did on Saturday in Winchester.

The architecture of the Maritime Museum, the Queen’s House, the Royal Observatory and the surrounding areas are absolutely amazing and we packed so much in to yesterday, it is going to take a couple of posts to get through it all :)

We met some amazing people, got caught up in some filming for a film that will be out next spring, wandered round the market and the back streets.

We saw two photographic  exhibitions. Astronomy Photographer of the Year 2012 at the Royal Observatory was amazing. Take a look at the images here. This was the one we had planned to go and see.

But, there was also an Ansel Adams exhibition at the Maritime Museum, which I didn’t know was on and which was absolutely stunning. Check it out here. That was an added bonus.

We visited the Royal Observatory, got some cityscape shots of London, which looked beautiful yesterday in the sunshine and went to view the Cutty Sark.

We also, as we do when we are out on the road, stopped for a very delicious lunch in a little pub. I’m getting like my parents, a day trip is an excuse to have a nice lunch.

We also found the tamest squirrel ever, who was extremely attentive, until he realised we didn’t have any food for him and then he lost interest and disappeared.

This a photo of Man blatantly teasing the squirrel with a hand full of nothing! Poor squirrel :)

It was a lovely day, perfect weather, lovely people, good company, a nice lunch and two photographic exhibitions.

And when we got home, Pud had done the housework and made dinner.

What more can you ask from a Sunday?

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 comments
  1. Sounds like a great day out Dory. I had a very enjoyable day at Greenwich myself a few years ago and would love to visit again (if I could only steel myself to suffer the trials of staying in London; I’m not a fan of busy, crowded places).

    • It was lovely but I know exactly what you mean. It was an unexpectedly lovely day yesterday so we benefited from fewer tourists around than would usually be there. I’m not sure I would like it so much in the height of the season :)

  2. Rachael said:

    What a lovely day out. I am quite jealOus! But I think Man was lucky he didn’t get a nip.

    • I know … he shouldn’t tease squirrels :)

  3. Lovely pics, Dory… I was born at Greenwich – I always tell people I was born on line nought!
    Did you get to see the painted hall in the Navy college?

    • Thanks Valerie, we saw a shop on Sunday that called itself The First Shop because it was at 0′ 0.4 :) Unfortunately it had scaffolding all around it so I couldn’t get a photograph.

Leave a Reply

