Morning world

Morning all.

I haven’t been around much this week cos I think I’ve been a bit under the weather.

When I saw my friend Sarah last week she asked me where I got all my energy from, well this week it all went somewhere.

I have the tail end of my cough, it’s getting better but it has been lingering now for about six weeks, and I’ve been completely exhausted.

Work has been busy and I’ve been having some problems with my eyes. Periodically I get weird migraines with the flashing lights round my eyes and a persistent but slight headache, like my brain is in a fog. When this happens I really just need to sleep, so that’s what I’ve been doing.

It’s happened a couple of times at work and I decided the amount of time I spend each week looking at a computer screen really wasn’t conducive to getting rid of it. I think I should probably get my eyes tested again. I am finding that I am holding pages that I am proofing further and further away again and it has been a year or so since I last had them tested. I shall book an appointment.

Friday night I went to bed at 9.15pm and woke up at 9am. I think I was tired lol. I still don’t feel 100% but I feel slightly less drained.

Man was meant to be coming down on Friday but on Thursday night he realised he’d booked the rail ticket for the wrong Friday – it was for next week. So I have found myself with an unexpected weekend with nothing to do. To be honest, I think I needed it.

Yesterday I got up late. Pud didn’t have any plans either so we went and did a little bit of Christmas shopping, bought ourselves a MacDonalds on the way home and then watched the last Harry Potter on DVD (and both nodded off).

Pud bought this reindeer. Both gorgeous daughters are completely obsessed by Christmas. They love it and turn my house into Santa’s grotto for about a month. I can’t see the reindeer making it to the loft with the rest of the Christmas decorations for two weeks or so, so I suppose this means it will stay in the lounge (despite the fact it’s only November 18) and it is highly likely it will accumulate some friends over the next couple of weeks.

Ruby.

I did some more work on the photos of Sarah’s granddaughter Ruby. They should be finished and ready to post to her by the end of today. Ruby is so cute :).

The rest of my week has been a bit of a wash out to be honest, although I did finally finish reading Dracula.

How many Bram Stoker novels can you name? Prior to looking it up, I could only name two – Dracula and The Lair of  the white Worm. And, until this week, I hadn’t actually read either. But he wrote loads.

I really enjoyed Dracula. It was very accessible considering it was written 115 years ago. I hadn’t even realised it was an epistolary novel – written entirely as a series of documents (letters, diary entries, newspaper cuttings, there’s even a ship’s log in there) rather than a narrative. It was extremely good and I can’t believe I hadn’t read it before.

So that is book number 3 of the 72 I said I was going to read before my 50th birthday, I am now on to John Steinbeck’s Cannery Row.

Today, well I’m not sure what I’m up to today but I have at least written my blog :)

I’ve got  a rake load of statistics to create for work but actually I feel like I should be taking it easy still, so who knows.

But it’s a nice day and I haven’t been out with my camera since last weekend …

 

 

4 comments
  1. nikkix2 said:

    I believe you should also take it easy today as well, cause it is Sunday afterall.
    I have decorated my room all Christmasy already. And went with the girls yesterday to the mall to do some pre-Christmas shopping, the mall is all decorated and Santa was even there. it was so nice hearing the Salvation Army playing carols! Today, is the Santa Claus Parade in Toronto, and the local radio station is already playing Christmas music 24/7,,so whether you like it or not,,,it’s here!!

    • I did take it easy :) Hope you enjoyed all the Christmassy stuff. It sounds very cool :) x

  2. LyannV said:

    “completely obsessed by Christmas” – sounds like my girls!
    “Today, well I’m not sure what I’m up to today but I have at least written my blog :)” – you took the words right off of my keyboard!
    I’m so happy to have come across your blog…thank you so much for the ‘likes’ on mine. Your blog is wonderful, and I look forward to many happy returns :D
    ~Lyann

    • Thank you Lyann, I am really enjoying your blog too and I look forward to getting to know you through it :)

Leave a Reply

