The mystery of friendship

Friendship is a funny thing isn’t it.

You can be very good friends with someone and then drift apart for no real reason, it just happens. And sometimes, if you meet that person later in life, you find you have nothing to say. Somehow things have changed and there is nothing in common anymore.

Sometimes people can get upset at a lack of contact from a friend but sometimes it is as if the years in between just don’t exist.

Yesterday I met up with a school friend that I have seen just once in the last 30 years.

We were friends at school and then went our separate ways when we left school.

We met at a small reunion three years ago, in a pub with lots of other people and lots of ‘hello, what have you been doing for the last 27 years?’ conversations going on.

Since then we have had contact on facebook and that’s about it.

But when I met up with Sarah yesterday, there was no awkwardness – it was as if the 30 years in between just melted away. We talked for ages and went to visit her son and granddaughter so I could take a few photos for her.

There were no recriminations about losing touch, it was a relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable day.

Ruby.

I have taken loads of photographs of her beautiful granddaughter Ruby, which I now plan to edit, put on a disk and send to her. I want to make sure they are the best they can be and I really hope she likes them.

Sarah lives in London’s East End but I didn’t have time to explore yesterday. I’m going to have to go back and have a good look around because it looked amazing and it’s not an area I know well.

We then went to Hornchurch to see her family.

On the way home, I had to find somewhere to pull over and get the camera out because this was what the sunset looked like.

Look at those colours. How beautiful is that?

Just about summed up my day perfectly really.

4 comments
  1. I love this! I just did the same thing not to long ago, and you are right! Sometimes there is nothing to say, or you can step back as if it was yesterday in high school! I am blessed with the friends that have come back into my life after 30 years!

    • Thanks Barb … it’s lovely when that happens :)

  2. I have had very similar experiences too. On both counts. It is strange, but then I think it goes to show that some friendships are transient and based on need and others are more durable and deep rooted; more personal somehow. I don’t negate the need for transient friendships. I think these are just as essential, but maybe we all change as we move through life’s journey and sometimes you can’t revisit times passed or don’t want to.

    • I think you’re right, the ones that are meant to last will do so, the others, well they were great while they did last

Leave a Reply

