In search of Goths

Wow, what a lot we packed in yesterday :)

We were up with the sparrows to drop step daughter to be off at work and then headed off into the wide blue yonder.

We packed in way too much to put into one post, which is great because it will probably keep me going for the rest of the week.

There were churches, a power station, the seaside and the Goth weekend at Whitby.

Taking photos there is number 18 on my Fifty before Fifty challenge.

We went to Whitby across country, stopping at a power station and three of the Churches Conservation Trust Churches and across the North Yorkshire Moors. What a great drive in the early morning autumn sun.

I don’t know why, but I was surprised by the number of people there. But I think the Goth weekends (which are held each spring and autumn) are gaining a reputation and people go along to do exactly the same as we  wanted to do … take photos of the weird and wonderful characters.

It was a beautiful day and Whitby is gorgeous. But more on the town itself in another post.

This post is devoted to the fabulous people we saw yesterday.

I think Man would have enjoyed it more had there been less crowds but, it was fun.

People go to amazing efforts to get into character and some of the costumes were outstanding.

I practiced my “May I take your photograph?” line over and over again. I’m getting better at this, the first time I did it was at the 1940s day at Papplewick Pumping Station. This was with people who had turned up for a specific event at a specific place and were expecting people to take their photograph.

Yesterday was one step further on. These were people who were dressed up for a specific event and were probably expecting people to take their photos but they were just milling around a town with the rest of the hoi polloi.

The next step will be to pluck up the courage to ask random people going about their business if I can take their photos.

The thing that struck me about yesterday is this Goth weekend did not just attract young people. In fact the vast majority of people I saw were at least my age, if not older. (And talking about age, my countdown clock has clicked down again – only 2.9 years till I’m 50!).

The costumes were amazing (Man kept laughing at me because I kept telling people that) and I had a lovely time photographing people. They had gone to such efforts.

One thing I did find, though, was that people had a very definite idea of how they wanted to pose, which usually involved them staring moodily into the distance. I was grateful to them though, for being so friendly and approachable and letting me photograph them.

I had loads of fun and that’s Number 18 checked off the list (I feel an update on the challenge coming on later this week).

 

2 comments
  1. nikkix2 said:

    Well done!
    My older daughter tried the Goth look for a bit, but it didn’t last long. Too much work I suppose.
    Question: Is Goth a real specific time period that happened in England,,I’m a bit confused about it?

    • Thanks. It’s a bit confusing … the Goth culture sort of grew from the punk era in the 70s and 80s. It takes influences from all sorts, including the Gothic literature of the Victorians – hence many Victorian-style costumes. I thought they looked great :)

Leave a Reply

