Heading north

Another photo from Virginia Water. I quite like this one with the sun behind the tree.

We definitely picked the right day to go, there was beautiful autumn sunshine.

Yesterday it was grey and miserable and it rained all day.

Yesterday I discovered why I have been suffering some pain. I have an umbilical hernia, which means I have to have another small operation to repair it.

I first noticed it about a couple of months ago I suppose and sometimes it doesn’t bother me and sometimes it does. Moving house probably didn’t help and neither has the cough and cold I’ve had for more than a week.

So I now await an appointment with the surgeon to get it sorted out and, if it bothers me in the meantime, I have painkillers and know the warning signs to look out for should it become more serious.

Today Man and I are heading north. We are going back to Nottingham for ten days.

It’s my birthday on Monday and we are planning a trip to the National Media Museum in Bradford. Neither of us have ever been and it sounds like lots of fun. I’m not sure I have ever been to Bradford at all actually.

We are also planning photo sessions throughout the week. Clumber Park, Attenborough Nature Reserve, Colwick Park and Nottingham City Centre are all on the list at the moment. But lists change so who knows where we will end up :)

I hope we may end up at Matlock Bath at some point for the light festival and the fireworks. We went a couple of years ago and it was amazing. A flotilla of boats all illuminated and dressed like carnival floats parading along the river at the bottom of the gorge. They hold the parade on Saturdays and Sundays for about four or five weeks. But on the last couple of weekends before Bonfire Night, they also have fireworks. I love fireworks.

This year we plan to take tripods because last time we forgot and it is very difficult to avoid the camera shake.

Simons Wood.

It would be nice if it stayed dry for a couple of the days so we can get out and about … but if not, there are a couple of projects we want to try indoors.

Will show you if they work out ok :)

 

 

6 comments
  1. lucywilliamspoetry said:

    There is a reason you haven’t been to Bradford!! I bet Clumber park will look awesome this time of year. in market square there is an electric car show/thing on at the moment, think the fiance wants to go and test out the cars!

    • Haha, you’re not a lover of Bradford then :) Probably head into town one day this week. I have only been taking nature shots recently and it will be nice to have a contrast.

  2. Take good care of yourself….you’ve also been working too hard! Enjoy your jaunts and photography, that’s excellent self care!

    • That sounds like good advice to me :) thanks

Leave a Reply

