Lost in the woods :)

Simon’s Wood.

I’ve found a new place to play. It’s called Simon’s Wood (don’t know who Simon was – I should find out really).

It’s just up the road from me, only a couple of miles, but I haven’t been there since I was a kid.

Contrary to the weather man’s guess, it was actually an ok day weather wise yesterday and, as I haven’t been out with my camera for ages, I thought I would indulge myself.

I got lost and had to track down a dog walker to direct me back to the car.

I went looking for the colours of early autumn. I got a couple of shots I was happy with. There are acres and acres of woods and all different types of trees, it’s very pretty and it smells amazing at this time of year.

I practiced taking pictures of fungi.

 

At one point I got barked at by a dog and startled its owner because I was taking pictures in a bush, off the path.

“Well officer, I was on my hands and knees in a bush with my camera in this popular walking spot …” yep, that sounds innocent enough lol. Actually the owner was very nice once he’d recovered :).

You know I have absolutely no idea what any of these things are. I need another reference book.

But it seems like somewhere that is going to be worth visiting again and again as the seasons change.

Lots of deciduous and coniferous trees, a small area of heathland, heathers, a small lake and, rumour has it, there’s a nudist camp in there somewhere too :)

I’ve never taken shots of life models before lol. Although I think I should probably stick to the nature rather than the naturists!

Now, although today is Monday and I don’t work Mondays, today I am going to work. I am going in a) because we have a couple of special publications coming up that I don’t want to leave for the others to have to do on their own and b) because I have this week left and then I am on holiday for two weeks woo hoo.

Man is coming down Friday and we shall spend a week mooching about down south and a week mooching about in and around Nottingham. I can’t wait. It is also gorgeous daughter number 2’s 20th birthday next week and my 47th the week after.

My self-imposed countdown clock on this blog has already ticked down to 3 years to my 50th birthday (which I think is a bit rude two weeks in advance).

 

 

4 comments
  1. Oh those beautiful English woods. Lots more picture please Dory – then I’ll weep with homesickness~!!!!!

  2. nikkix2 said:

    I noticed that a few days,,but didn’t want to bring it up, lol! When you and the “man” move in together what part do you intend to live in north or south?

    • I’d like to live in the north … it’s less crowded and it’s cheaper. But anywhere will do :)

  3. The photographs are beautiful, A couple really outstanding Dory! :)

Leave a Reply

