fifty before fifty

My parents bought me a camper van … apparently I get a real one when they win the lottery :)

The other day I was reading through some favourite blogs and a line caught my eye.

It said fifty before fifty.

Fifty challenges, things to see, achieve, do before you reach the age of fifty.

Well my countdown clock is ticking away at the side of my blog, so why not?

… and then maybe I’ll give myself five years to do fifty five challenges before I’m fifty five, and sixty challenges before I’m sixty in the next five years, there’s always going to be more things I want to see, do or experience.

But first (I’m getting ahead of myself again) fifty before I’m fifty. I sense a new category coming on here.

In no particular order (drum roll please)

  1. See the Northern Lights
  2. Read two books a month (that’s 72 before my 50th birthday)
  3. Travel the coast of Britain in a camper van
  4. Become a member of the Royal Photographic Society
  5. Take Man to Paris
  6. Get married
  7. Visit every castle in England
  8. Hold a photographic exhibition
  9. Write a children’s book
  10. Get a short story published in a magazine/book
  11. Gain another qualification
  12. Visit Edinburgh
  13. Go camping in my little tent
  14. Get a passport
  15. Lose four stone
  16. Give up smoking
  17. Go punting at Cambridge
  18. Go to Whitby to photograph one of the Goth weekends
  19. Have a go at archery
  20. Yarn bomb a tree in the name of art
  21. Give up work to work for myself
  22. Reach my goal of saving £50,000 so we can
  23. Buy a house
  24. Visit every church on the Churches Conservation Trust list
  25. Make at least one donation to a charity shop/clothing bank etc every month
  26. Visit Lindisfarne
  27. Go on a steam train
  28. Get 500 followers on my blog
  29. Finally get to live with Man
  30. Take part in a charity event
  31. Visit the Lake District with Man
  32. Take a holiday in Wales
  33. Buy a car
  34. Learn a new skill
  35. Create my own  website
  36. Make myself an item of clothing
  37. Make a patchwork quilt
  38. Write a novel
  39. Watch the sunrise at Stonehenge
  40. Take some amazing photographs of a beach
  41. Get more than 100 photographs accepted by stock photo agencies
  42. Visit the Isle of Man
  43. Visit the National Media Museum
  44. Visit the Black Country Museum
  45. Go on a hike of at least ten miles at least once each year
  46. Learn to use photoshop expertly
  47. Make a meal using ingredients I’ve grown myself
  48. Photograph lightning
  49. Go on a hovercraft
  50. Knit a jumper for Man (and make him wear it ha!)

That little lot ought to keep me going for a while.

21 comments
  1. Do I really have to wear the jumper? :) xxx

    • Ok. But Paris sounds good. In fact… the whole list sounds fun. (except No 50) lol. ;) xxx

  2. Good luck with the list Dory. And can I say a certain person’s apparent reluctance to go along with item 50 deserves a response. You should make it a jumper and a woolly hat, and both to be worn at least once in public! :-)

    • Thanks James, and I have to say, great idea about the matching hat … photos will follow lol :)

  3. thesweetkitten said:

    Looks like an interesting list!

  4. Whew !!!! Good luck. Can we cross them off as you do them?

    • It is a bit of a tall order isn’t it lol … but yes, I’ll be crossing them off as I go :)

  5. nikkix2 said:

    Doesn’t seem to difficult,,I bet you can do it,,may I suggest you start at #50 and work backwards ;)

    • Haha, Man is so looking forward to his jumper :)

      • And hat.… thank you James. :)

  6. Rachael said:

    Good grief. You like a challenge then? Good luck!

  7. Took me while but finally found your list would love to see the sunrise and set at stonehenge am thinking your idea of a camper van looks like a pretty cool way to achieve a lot of these

    • Thanks Paula, it would just be such fun :)

Leave a Reply

