I wouldn’t send my child to school there!

A random picture of a carousel :)

I have designed, sub edited, read and corrected four entire education supplements over the past two weeks.

Since Friday, I have labouriously poured over 56 pages of education information.

And you know what I have decided?

I would not send any child of mine to these establishments.

They may have beautiful schools with amazing grounds, all the most modern equipment and technology and dedicated teachers but, and this is a big but, not one of them can write grammatical press releases, punctuated correctly and without hundreds (and I do means hundreds) of these little buggers !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now don’t get me wrong, an exclamation mark is all well and good in its correct place but you never, ever need three of them at the end of every sentence. Or there is the alternative where you don’t even get full stops at the end of the sentence. And don’t even get me started on their use of apostrophes! That did need an exclamation mark.

Good grief, who writes that drivel? I am really hoping they didn’t get the English teachers to do it.

And the other thing, while I’m on a little mini rant, is the Random Capital Letters littered throughout every sentence.

NO – Sports Fields should not have capital letters, neither should school Building or Teacher. This is English, not German. All nouns do not take a capital letter.

Aaaarggghhh. It is completely infuriating having to deal with copy from advertisers on a day-to-day basis but when this rubbish comes from educational establishments, it makes my blood boil.

I have a sign up in my office.

It says:

Grammar – the difference between knowing your shit and knowing you’re shit.

Nuff said!

13 comments
  1. I’m on your side with this Dory but I suspect we’re in a minority. I often hear the argument that as long as the meaning is clear, grammar is irrelevant. My view is that if someone doesn’t take the trouble to get it right (or as right as they are able) they are showing that they do not not consider their audience to be worth the effort. Poor grammar equals ignorance or contempt and definitely is relevant. (Or should I say Definitely!!!!! )

    • Sadly, I think you are right, we are in a minority.

  2. Lol! And yes that one deserved an explanation mark hehe. Thank you for that good laugh. I, too, am amazed at so-called professionals’ lack of proper grammar. Even I – who by no means am a “professional” – know the basics…

    Anyhew. Got a good chuckle out of that one. :)

    • Exactly :) and these are the people educating the next generation. Glad you enjoyed :)

  3. Dory, I’m with you all the way. Am constantly amazed at the basic mistakes people make, and I think it has to do with the fact that few people read or hear good English, ie Jane Austen or the Authorised Version. etc, etc When we heard these rhythmic phrases and well rounded grammatical sentences regularly, they entered into our consciousness, and we learned to use prepositions correctly, choose appropriate tenses, and use short Anglo- Saxon words instead of pompous Latin ones ( which people use to show they’re educated!). Deary me – don’t get me started!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! – how’s that?

    • I think that’s certainly the case Valerie. If the only thing kids are reading is their facebook page, there is no hope.

  4. nikkix2 said:

    Hahaha, your head !must spin when you read my blog,lol

  5. Valerie Fletcher Adolph said:

    Amen!

  6. I liked your one sentence summation best. Says it all I think. :)

    • Thanks :) lots of people comment on that when they come in my office :)

      • :)

Leave a Reply

