Happy autumn :)

Quebec, Canada a few years ago now.

Hey, it’s September. I love this time of year. Autumn is definitely my favourite season.

I love the colours and the smell and even the rain. And when you get a nice autumn day, the light is beautiful.

I took these photos a few years ago in Canada in mid September a few years ago (actually it was about 10 years ago, good grief, where does the time go?). We traveled from Quebec City to Tadoussac, following the St Lawrence river and staying in beautiful little towns. We saw the autumn colours, the odd bear and went whale watching. It was an amazing trip.

Early morning looking over the St Lawrence river.

I would love to go back. But England is beautiful this time of year too.

The reason I’m using these photos is that once again this week I have failed miserably to take any photos. In fact, I haven’t even been taking my camera around with me (I usually even take it to work just in case). Man is always telling me “Your worst photograph is the one you missed because you didn’t have your camera!”

As usual, he’s right. Missed a shot of a half-grown deer the other night for that very reason.

As usual, it’s been manic at work – and just for the record I hate education supplements. I was at work till 9pm last night trying to finish off two that are needed Monday (four pages to do now) and I have another 20 page supplement to put together by Tuesday – quite apart from all the newspapers.

It doesn’t look like I’m going to get much of a chance to go out this weekend either, so much to do.

We finally got references and everything  back for the new letting agents and we move three weeks today Woo Hoo. So packing and cleaning starts now. Don’t have time to do much during the average week but I’m home this weekend, at Man’s next weekend, and home the weekend after so it’s all systems go. This weekend I plan to do all the flower beds, sort the kitchen cupboards and micro-clean the bathroom.

Then I’ve got stuff for the dump, stuff for the charity shop, stuff for the clothing bank etc etc etc.

Maybe I could live here?

It’s going to be busy, busy, busy. But then, at the beginning of October, I have two weeks off work Woo Hoo again. Where shall we go? We’re thinking maybe the Lake District for a little while.

Now, if you’re bored at any point today and you want to see something that could make you laugh, have a look at this link. It’s hilarious.

Bic, the biro people, have introduced a new biro “for her” !! Obviously the old unisex biros didn’t work for women. The link takes you to the item for sale on Amazon. But the best thing is the reviews people have added to the item, they’re quite, quite brilliant. Scroll down and have a look, there are almost 400 of them now.

I suppose I ought to go and do something useful, but right now I am indulging in my favourite Saturday morning activity – sitting in the garden, wrapped in Man’s dressing gown, playing on my computer and dunking gingernut biscuits into a very large cup of strong black coffee.

I’ll do stuff later :)

 

 

11 comments
  1. You were over here on this side of the earth last year and I didn’t get to see you??!!! You know that this time of year is my favorite too! I love the fact that I can wear a sweatshirt and jeans with flip flops!! Good luck on the packing and cleaning!

  2. nikkix2 said:

    The link my friend goes to a ballpoint pen order page.
    I love this time of year hear too, the leaves are just starting to change, and you can leave the windows open at night and smell the crispness in the air.

  3. I love autumn and spring, the colours are more intense. Hope you have a good time photographing in October.

  4. Rachael said:

    We’ve done that trip! Though it was too early for Fall. Lovely shots.

    • It’s a beautiful part of the world. Thanks :)

  5. Oh Dory, Great post, great commentary, you know the drill, you’re always so much fun to read and enjoy but the Bic Pen and those manly and feminine comments, it was really hard for me to leave them and come back, (Just kept laughing out loud!) I think there were 458 comments now. Hilarious, really really funny, what a wonderful find! :), penny

    • He he … they kept me entertained for ages. I can’t believe so many people joined in the game :)

      • If there hadn’t been quite so many already I would have also commented, it’s ripe for writing funny things. :)

Leave a Reply

