Taking on new challenges

Wollaton Hall.

We had had half a plan to go to Whitby in search of Dracula this weekend, but it’s a three hour drive there and we have spent a lot of time in the car recently.

So, instead, we are going to head to one of our favourite haunts – Wollaton Hall.

There’s a world food fair on this weekend and I absolutely love food markets and trying different things. We usually come home with a bag stuffed with vinegars, chutneys and relishes, different breads and cheeses. Man and I are cheese fiends, we love it (although we have discovered that unpasteurized cheese brings Man out in hives).

But there is another reason too.

We are going to have a go at segways! You know those things that have platforms with wheels to stand on and a pole with handlebars, and you lean forward to make it go faster and backwards  to make it slow down/stop.

Check tomorrow’s blog for details of injuries/hospital visits hehe. Life is all about new experiences after all (in addition to finding things to blog about lol).

I have also signed up for a site called The Writers Cafe. Now this is a new challenge for me, and one I don’t quite feel comfortable with.

I want to develop my creative writing. A large number of people have told me I should write a book, and I’d love too, but I haven’t had any feedback on my creative writing since I left school at 16 and I’m not particularly confident about it.

Putting it out there for criticism feels like a big step. We’ll see how it goes.

Yesterday I posted those six word stories (which were just a bit of fun). I also posted them on facebook and was amazed when everyone’s comments were in six word stories, colleagues at work even gorgeous daughter number one and her boyfriend :) It was hilarious.

Today I have posted my first attempt at Haiku. I don’t think it’s very good lol. Maybe I should just stick to prose :)

Meanwhile I am being pampered by Man this weekend :). Just one of his many talents is cooking and last night he created the most amazing Mediterranean Shepherd’s Pie laced with red pesto and red wine and topped with Parmesan. Delicious. It’s lovely being looked after :)

Yummmmm :)

Leave a Reply

