Brain won’t shut down

You see this little cottage, that’s where I’d like to be.

Once again it is in Hamble, where we visited on Saturday.

I have been back at work for precisely one day and already I am stressed. We have a busy week. Bank Holiday on Monday and no papers are cancelled so we just have to do the same amount of work (and my department is always rushed off its feet) with less time and less people (because we are slap bang in the middle of holiday season).

I got to work yesterday to find several motors features and three education supplements had been added in to the mix, just for good measure.

So we are back to the stage where there is just too much going on for my brain to shut down.

I got home from work at 9.15pm and was in bed by 9.30pm yesterday. I woke for the first time at 2am. By 3.45am I decided I might just as well get up.

So I’ve caught up on my blogs and am just about to head into work (it’s 5am). If I can catch up a bit today I might be able to switch my brain off and sleep tonight. Well that’s what I’m telling myself anyway.

And it’s peaceful at this time of the morning at work. No-one rings, demands my attention, has any problems for me to solve … I can just concentrate on what I’m meant to be doing.

I don’t want the rest of the team to have to kill themselves this week just to get the papers out.

But I’d much rather be in that little cottage in Hamble waking up with Man to views of the boats and the river.

I told you work gets in the way of the rest of my life. Roll on Friday.

 

1 comment
  1. Dear little cottage with it’s pretty door….i bet it has a charming name like all the other charming English cottages…..I sat an read a magazine today (drooled over it rather….) called the English Country Home….wow….but i bet your dreamy little cottage is ever so sweet, perfect in it’s own way….I’m lucky to have a small home, rather like a cottage and a big yard…all i need. Hope things settle down at work…

Leave a Reply

