Oh the Grand Ole Duke of York

Best street name ever?

Come on, you have to admit, this is probably the best name for a street ever in the entire world.

It’s quite, quite brilliant and well worth driving 180 mile round trip to photograph.

The street is about ten steps long, but we still found it (thank you Google Maps).

Actually, Man and I didn’t do a 180-mile round trip just to photograph this street sign (although I still maintain it was worth it).

The real reason for driving all the way to York and back was these.

The best sausages in the whole universe.

Yes, sausages.

This beautiful plate of sausage and mash was dished up to us by the lovely chef at The Last Drop Inn in York city centre. And then we wandered round the corner to The Shambles Sausage Shop to buy another two varieties to bring home.

That was our real reason for visiting York.

But, while you are there, obviously you have to have a look around.

York is one of my favourite cities. Man and I went for a long weekend last year and did all the main tourist attractions – the wonderful museum, Jorvik Viking Centre, Clifford’s Tower, York Minster, the Shambles, The National Railway Museum, Barley Hall, the list goes on and on.

One of my favourite buildings in York.

Yesterday we just mooched about.

We went to see the summer exhibition by the archaeological society. When I was a kid, I always wanted to be an archaeologist or a museum creator. At the age of six when all my peers wanted to be nurses and teachers, I wanted to discover a Viking longship or a previously unknown pyramid. I have no idea how I ended up being a journalist, that wasn’t the original plan.

Stained glass window of Holy Trinity Church.

We visited the 13th century Holy Trinity church in Goodramgate, which is now accessed via a little alleyway down the side of Poundland.

I picked up some leaflets for churches owned by the Churches Conservation Trust. I’m going to visit and photograph all of them (there are 341). I haven’t told Man yet, won’t he be thrilled (NOT lol).

We took a boat trip along the river Ouse with a very amusing Captain doing the commentary.

The beautiful York Minster.

We did, of course, stop by York Minster. It is an incredible place. There was a wedding just finishing and the bride and groom came out on to the steps to have their wedding pictures taken.

Their pictures are now going to include hundreds of Japanese tourists and several random people wearing shorts and Manchester United t-shirts. I’m not sure I’d like that (I am a Tottenham Hotspur fan!).

We walked miles, which is just as well because I enjoyed a raspberry cheesecake ice cream sitting in the Minster gardens and followed that later with a large slice of chocolate gateaux and ice cream at a lovely little bistro in the city walls.

Yes, I know I said I was dieting but I received some news yesterday that only ice cream and chocolate could help with.

The York Wheel.

The gorgeous ones and I are on the move again.

The landlord of our house wants to rent it out to a member of his family, so we are being kicked out on September 25.

Do you know how hard it is to find places to rent at the moment? Do you know how much I hate moving? This will be the fourth house in just over three years. It’s not amusing or interesting any more. Hence the need for chocolate and ice cream.

I love the waterfront.

So I had a few tears and tantrums and now I’m over it.

We’ll find somewhere, we always do, but I’ve only just updated my driving licence and now I’m going to have to do the same thing again!!! NOT HAPPY.

Gorgeous daughter number one doesn’t know yet, she’s currently on holiday in Egypt, and for some bizarre reason gorgeous daughter number two thinks I’m being mega overdramatic and says moving is fun.

Pah.

Taking photographs is fun, exploring the world is fun, moving is not up there on my list of fun things!

But I suppose it will at least provide the ideal opportunity to have a clear out, sell some crap (sorry, highly valuable and collectible items) on eBay and finally do that car boot sale.

Now, where’s the ice cream!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments
  1. Good luck with the move of home Dory. I hope you find somewhere suitable without too much hassle.

  2. Thank you, I’m sure daughters one and two will find somewhere suitable for us all – they are in charge of house seeking :)

  3. Ditto on the good luck. But I really do agree with you moving is a huge hassle. Hope all goes well! Great shots by the way.

Leave a Reply

