Messing around and feeling flighty

Transformed from a photo of a seagull over Dover Castle.

So it was back to work yesterday (yes, I’m still booing).

Dropped Man off at the station to get the train home to Nottingham and then headed in to the office.

It was ok. Took me all morning to deal with the emails and most of the rest of the day to catch up with the various people I needed to catch up with and deal with the HR forms.

I think our HR department is on a constant mission to ensure they are kept in a job. Seriously, the number of ridiculous form I have to fill in is unbelievable. And it is just another thing I am useless at doing.

Heron in flight.

My working day is so busy, with several newspaper deadlines a day, that I have to prioritise each and every task. For some reason HR forms are usually at the bottom of my list of priorities.

Then I get into trouble :)

Not that I mind that much, I’m used to being in trouble with the HR department.

So I’ve fallen back in to bad habits already at work. Persuaded a colleague to go and buy me a sandwich, the only exercise I got yesterday was walking up and down the office stairs, it rained when I left work so I didn’t stop and take any photos, and by the time I got home at about 7.30pm I couldn’t be bothered to cook so dinner was a couple of slices of toast and a (small) bowl of ice cream.

Seagull on canvas.

I have really got to be more disciplined.

So instead of working on some new photos, I thought I’d have a go at transforming some of the ones I have taken over the last couple of weeks (you’ve gotta love photoshop).

All of these pictures were in focus (honest) and I have just been playing around with contrast, colours and filters. Trying to be creative. I can’t decide whether that’s worked or not.

Quite like this one but I think I prefer the original.

The Plan, which has sort of taken a bit of a back seat while I have been on holiday, is that I use some of the photos and designs to create greetings cards, post cards, stationary, that sort of thing.

But the Plan is still in the early stages at the moment.

I’ve also got all that card stock (for handmade greetings cards) and accessories that are just taking up room in my house so I thought what I’d do is concentrate on Christmas and book myself into a Christmas craft event somewhere (Wollaton Hall always does a good one).

That gives me a fair few months to work on building up the stock before I go and sell it.

It should generate a bit of money but also serve the purpose of clearing some of the crap from my house.

No, honestly, this one was in focus as well… I’ve just added motion blur and manipulated the colours and contrast.

And I really, really, need to sort out some stuff for a car boot sale.

The other thing I need to do is find out whether or not I can continue renting this house for another year. Our lease is up at the end of next month and if we can’t renew we are going to have to find another place to rent.

You would not believe how traumatic that is in the current economic climate. It would be a complete disaster. I’d better call the letting agents today.

And today’s creative challenge is to take some more photos and to write 20 lines of something … it doesn’t really matter what. 20 lines of creative writing a day, just to get into the habit.

But first, I have to go to work. I told you it got in the way of the rest of my life :)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

