Tag, you’re it :)

A random picture of a seagull just because I can no longer imagine a blog post without a photograph :)

Oooh a new game, I haven’t come across this before.

Theresa from floating with the breeze has tagged me in a game of blog tag. Thank you, I’m very flattered.

It’s a way of opening up your blog to a couple more followers perhaps and an appreciation of blogs you enjoy, a bit like an award.

I hope the people I tag are ok with being tagged … please play if you want do and don’t if you don’t.

So there are rules, as with all games, and here they are:

You must post the rules
Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post
Create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged (or use the existing ones)
Tag (eleven) people with a link to your post
Let them know they’ve been tagged

These are the questions I was asked, along with my answer.

1. What is your first childhood memory?

I think it is lying in the back of my dad’s car looking at the purples, oranges, reds and yellows of an Australian bush sunset. We lived there for a couple of years.

2. Do you play a musical instrument and, if so, what?

I don’t but I’ve always wanted to play honkytonk piano.

3. Do you always feel confident about your posts once published?

No, but I find writing the posts cathartic, it is a way of organising my sometimes very confused thoughts.

4. What scares you?

On a superficial level, spiders (need Man to get rid), on a deeper level, waking up one day and wondering what would have happened had I tried something. Life is for living and I want to grab every chance I get to follow my dreams and run with it.

5. Do you read the newspapers?

I am the production editor for a large group of local newspapers so I read them before they are published. Other than that, I get most if not all of my news from the television or internet.

6. What is the main inspiration for your creativity?

With my photography it is light, I am completely obsessed with how different light creates a different image. With my writing it’s people. I am curious about people and what makes them tick.

7. Do you take time out for yourself?

Time for myself would be time spent with Man, with my camera or reading.

8. Are you doing what you love?

Almost, I’m trying to be. I did love journalism but there is something lacking now. Now I want to be more creative and that’s what I’m working towards.

9. Have you ever had any unusual experiences happen to you that you can’t explain?

Many. Lots of deja vue moments and even silly things like two days ago Man and I had been talking about a lovely meal we had had in a pub after getting lost in the countryside a few weeks ago and how we would never be able to find it again. That same day, we went on a road trip to the south coast and on the way home passed the very pub we had been discussing. We know where it is now.

10.What would you like to be remembered for?

Being a decent person.

11.Do you remember your dreams when you wake up in the morning?

For about 10 seconds, then it’s gone and I spend the rest of the day trying to remember.

Eastbourne in the rain the other day.

And now for my nominations, which are blogs I always look forward to reading. Whether or not the authors decide to play this little game, pop by and have a look at what they have to say.

In the order I found them in my Reader:

The Fuzzy Foto

Lucy Williams Poetry

Poetry of a Madman

Petra’s 365 Photographs

Retiree Diary

The Slama Family Project

Life with Blondie

Barb Althaus’s Blog

Slapppshotblog

Country Corners

The Why About This

And here are the questions:

Which three words describe you best?

What is your dream job?

What was your favourite childhood  toy?

What was the last book you read?

Puddles, walk around or jump in?

What is at the top of your bucket list?

Who would be your ideal dinner guests?

Where do you want to be in five years time?

What is your favourite season?

And why?

Why do you blog?

It’s that macro filter again.

Play, or not, as you choose but thank you for providing me with much entertainment and information, I really enjoy reading your blogs.

9 comments
  1. Thanks so much for playing the game. Loved the answers to the questions. What part of Australia did you live in? :)

    • You’re welcome, it was fun :) and I was flattered you thought of me. We lived in Woomera in South Australia for a couple of years. My dad worked on the rockets as part of the European Space Programme

      • Oh wow. That must have been an experience. Spent 42 years in Australia but never made it to South Australia. I love reading your blog and seeing your photographs. Having a holiday down your way in August. We’ve never been before so we’re really looking forward to it. :)

      • It was, one day I’d love to go and visit again. Where abouts are you based now?

  2. First of all, that macro filter is solid gold; what a beautiful image.
    Thank you for tagging me, Dory. I am pleased that you like my little blogs. I don’t do these things very well, but you handled yours superbly. I enjoyed your answers. I suspect that you will be remembered as a decent person judging from your answers here. :-) I look forward to exploring your work here.

    Thank you for your kindness to an old woman!
    George

    • You are very welcome, I really enjoy your blog :)

  3. Thanks for the invitation Dory but I’m going to be a spoil sport and not play the game. [Loud booing in the background as he continues …] I’m trying to keep my blog as a nature / outdoors only blog and don’t want it to go off topic so early in its life. And believe me, I’m sorely tempted. I’ve just returned from a long weekend in Bristol to attend my youngest daughter’s university graduation ceremony and I won’t even be blogging about that, despite the natural desire to shout out to the world that (both) my daughters are fantastic!

    I did find the questions thought provoking however and just to show I’m not averse to revealing all to the world, my answers:

    Which three words describe you best? plain, uncomplicated, honest.
    What is your dream job? retirement.
    What was your favourite childhood toy? I can’t remember any of my childhood toys but I loved my encyclopedias.
    What was the last book you read? Further adventures of a grumpy old rock star (Rick Wakeman).
    Puddles, walk around or jump in? Photograph, then jump in.
    What is at the top of your bucket list? I don’t know what a “bucket list” is.
    Who would be your ideal dinner guests? David Attenborough, Ray Meers, Ernest Shackleton (not all at the same time).
    Where do you want to be in five years time? Out walking almost anywhere in England.
    What is your favourite season? Three-way tie (summer is my least favourite).
    And why? Too hot, too crowded and my bald spot gets sunburned so I have to wear a hat.
    Why do you blog? It’s really just another facet of my photography; it helps me to slow down and observe, looking past the superficial to see the detail, what’s hidden, patterns etc. I blog in my head while I’m out and about.

    • That’s absolutely fine … in fact it makes a lot of sense :). Thanks for taking the time to post your answers here though, I enjoyed them. And I very much enjoy your blog

Leave a Reply

