I can prove who I am

A little patch of happiness.

My driving licence is returned to me – YAY.

I can now prove I am who I say I am AND I’m not going to be fined £1,000 for having an out of date photograph on my driving licence.

I am safe for another decade.

Wallace also came to mow the lawn. Well it was about time too, it was looking a bit tatty.

So yesterday I head off to town to do some shopping for daughter number one’s birthday on Wednesday.

I take daughter number two and her boyfriend for advice, inspiration, bag carrying purposes etc etc.

The first thing I learn is don’t go shopping with daughter number two’s boyf. He wants to look at everything!!

Now retail therapy is a bit like torture for me. I hate it. People walk at you, bash you with their bags, are generally rude, and in my way and, worst of all, when you are walking behind someone they have the habit of just stopping dead in their tracks for no reason. Very irritating.

I go shopping when I absolutely have to. Yesterday I had to.

So, on the advice of the learned one (daughter number 2) we head to a jewellers and I purchase something to add to a present number 1 got last year (I know that’s cryptic but there is a very slim chance she might read this).

For an hour I am happy with my purchase, then I get it into my head that I bought her the exact same thing last year.

I know I bought her a laptop last year (it was her 21st), but I convinced myself that I also bought her this. Not something similar but precisely the same thing. You’d think I would remember wouldn’t you, but no, I can’t.

We pick up some more things that I am happy with and drive home and I make number 2 sneak into number one’s bedroom to check. She says I didn’t buy it last year. I’m still not convinced, we will have to wait until Wednesday for definitive proof.

Now all the time we have been shopping (and believe me it took hours) I have wanted to get out with my camera. The weather was chilly but sunny, the clouds were good, the light was great, my camera was back.

As soon as we get home it starts to rain and there is no break in the clouds for the rest of the day.

I went out anyway. I went to the lake where, not only was the light still crap, there were also hoards of kids learning to windsurf.

Children are the biggest pain in the arse when you are trying to take photographs.

You just can’t take pictures of other people’s children these days without parental permission, which is fair enough. But I don’t want to take pictures of them.

What I want is for them to get out of the damn way so I can take pictures of the lake/wildflower/landscape/duck they are obscuring so it doesn’t look like I’m trying to take pictures of them.

Unloved street furniture.

I went for a walk around the lake instead. That’s the exercise box ticked again.

I ran into an old friend that I haven’t seen I think since the day I got married almost 25 years ago.

He doesn’t live in the area anymore, hasn’t done for years. He had just returned to visit his mum and they happened to be out for a walk.

It was great to see him and his mum and brother.

And so after a day of shopping, crowds, grey dull weather and children aggravating me, it was a great end to the afternoon.

And now I have my driving licence back I can submit the relevant paperwork to the stock photo agency to prove who I am and hopefully start submitting pictures to them. Although I didn’t really get anything to be proud of yesterday.

Leave a Reply

