Well, I’ve made a start

The lovely Surrey countryside … taken on Saturday.

I was so productive yesterday.

Man and I posted the last of the eBay sales off to the buyer and then drove to the station to drop him off for his rail journey home. This turned out to be a bit of a nightmare because of signalling failures, but he made it in the end.

I don’t get to see him now until Friday of next week – long distance relationships suck sometimes.

Then I drove to work. Had a long chat with the boss where I tried to ascertain what was going to happen with my production department.

She got completely the wrong end of the stick and told me not to worry, everything was going to be fine.

I tried telling her that actually I was angling after taking redundancy if the opportunity arose, but she wasn’t having any of it.

Funny how you can be blatantly honest with someone and they just don’t believe you.

I finished work just before 7pm and headed home to an empty house. Daughters one and two were out.

I had half and eye on the football then went out to weed the front garden. I hate gardening but Wallace the gardener hadn’t done it and I don’t want the neighbours to complain.

Then I finished off my very first article for HubPages. You can see it here: Dory’s first HubPages article on York.

It’s not very long and it’s not very brilliant but at least it’s up there now. I plan to have a whole series of articles up there about different places to visit in the UK.

The amazing interior of Watts Chapel in Compton, Surrey.

I’ve signed up for a Google AdSense account, which I think means there will be ads on my hubpages and I will earn money if these ads are clicked on (at least I hope that’s what it means).

Now I am going to have to try and generate traffic to those pages somehow. It’s a long-term work in progress, but at least I’ve made a start finally.

The idea is to highlight places people might not know about but which are worth a visit. Like the sausage shop I mention in the article and the pub where you can sample all the sausages.

I think I’ve finally got to grips with how to layout the pages. The rest is up to me.

When I get to writing about the Surrey Hills, I’ll make sure I include Watts Chapel that we visited on Saturday.

The Chapel was created by Mary Watts, potter and wife of the Victorian artist GF Watts, and is covered both outside and in with ceramics. It is beautiful, quirky and right off the beaten track.

So this is how I plan to generate a modest income. Small steps towards earning what we need to live. Regular articles on HubPages, a library of stockphotos with the agency (once my drivers licence is returned to me), perhaps some fiction on one of the many fiction sites and our secret business plan :).

Man is on about signing up for a photography course too.

We will make our self-set deadline.

 

2 comments
  1. nikkix2 said:

    I most definately will be following your articles!!
    Do you have a email address??

Leave a Reply

