One step forwards, one step sideways

Butterfly? Moth? I don’t know the difference, maybe I should find out.

Yesterday I went out early with my camera, had a walk, took some photos and found a smelly dog.

I was quite pleased with some of the photos and I thought I would submit some to the stock photo site I’ve signed up with.

So I tried, only to discover that the first time you post you have to send them a copy of some photo ID for copyright purposes.

My passport expired about three years ago and I haven’t got round to renewing it. And – as I discovered yesterday – my photo driving licence expired last year.

Apparently you can be fined up to £1,000 for not having it renewed. Guess what I will be doing when the Post Offices open tomorrow!

So I can’t submit photos to the site until I can prove who I am – that’s probably going to take two weeks.

But all is not lost, I can still take more photos and then, when I have my ID I can start posting and see if they will accept them.

I also started writing my first article for the other site – Hubpages. Again, this hasn’t turned out to be as easy as I hoped.

What I want to do is to write a series of articles about places to visit in England. This, in itself, does not present a huge problem because Man and I explore all over the place and I have info and photos to create these articles.

But I want all the articles to tie together with the same format and I can’t figure out what that format should be. Maybe by the end of toay I will have worked it out, who knows?

I’m following the path one step at a time.

AND the countdown clock on my blog has gone down a notch.

There is now only 3.3 years to my 50th birthday.

At work the other day I was explaining to a colleague what I was trying to do.

“How long is it till your are 50,” she said.

When I told her, she said: “Well I’m surprised, you don’t look it and you certainly don’t act it.”

This made me smile.

Half an hour later another young colleague was talking about his mum.

Then he said: “How long is it until you are 60?”

This did not make me smile.

Swings and roundabouts, you win some, you lose some, etc etc.

Age isn’t actually something I’ve ever really been bothered about. I believe it is a state of mind more than anything else. If you want to feel old, then feel old – I’m not going to.

OK there are things that have changed over the years. It would be bad and wrong if I wore short skirts, I can’t read without my glasses and I can no longer stay up till 3am drinking red wine and function at work the following day.

But I can still have fun. And I can still strive for a life that I want to live. It’s never too late.

Quack.

Man sold another item on eBay yesterday (woohoo – more cash for the pot) and daughters number one and two sold a tool box of their father’s and donated the £10 proceeds to the cause.

The pot is increasing slowly and slow and steady wins the race.

Today’s tasks are to sort out some rubbish – oops, I mean  valuable second hand items – for next week’s car boot sale and to get creative with some cards.

At the moment, I’m just sitting in the garden on the laptop.

Stanley the angry sparrow is yelling furiously from the roof above me. He has a girlfriend. It hasn’t made him any less angry.

 

2 comments
  1. nikkix2 said:

    Ain’t life grand? Happy Sunday :)

Leave a Reply

