This is why Man calls me Dory

I went to the chemist the other day to pick up my prescription (have had a cough and blocked sinuses for more than two weeks so I thought I’d better do something about it).

As I went in to the shop, I took my sunglasses out and stuffed them in my bag.

When I came out I put them back on again and the right side was noticeably darker than the left, I thought the lens must be really dirty and made a mental note to clean it when I got back to the car.

I walked past several people who looked at me strangely … I just thought they were having a bad day.

Anyway, when I got back to the car and went to clean my glasses, there was no dirt on the right lens. The reason it looked darker was because the left lens had fallen out completely and I hadn’t noticed!  I had been walking around town wearing these, no wonder I was getting strange looks.

Trend setter, or ditsy fool?

Yesterday I saw a colleague at work who had the new tax disc for his car in his hand.

I remembered that I had been given one last week and commented at the time that it was way too early to give it to me because I’d lose it before the end of the month.

I was right, do you think I could remember where it was? After a little while of frantic searching another colleague reckoned she’d seem me with it by my handbag. She was right … it was tucked away in a dark corner of my purse. I must remember to display it in my car on Friday.

Two examples of why Man calls me Dory (remember Finding Nemo?).

Anyway, work got in the way of me doing much constructive planning for the future yesterday, and is highly likely to today and tomorrow as well.

I did get a recommendation for a good print company to get some quotes from – a small, family firm, I like that – and I began to investigate other people’s blogs and found some interesting design companies to stalk and some interesting people to follow on Twitter.

AND I have my first bid on Ebay (very excited). In fact, I have a bid of 99p on a Wii game, with several people ‘watching’. I listed four Wii games and there are now watchers on all of them. Move over Del Boy, Dory is now a trader.

And daughter number two produced a £10-winning lottery scratchcard, which she donated to the Plan. She’s a lovely girl.

And it occurred to me as I was doing some research that, given my obvious lapses of memory, I ought to find some way of collating and keeping all the information I am discovering. I think a resources and links page on here would be a good idea.

Now, if I could just figure out how to do it …

2 comments
  1. nikkix2 said:

    You just reminded me that I need to open a savings account at the bank,,if I want to start saving for all my many travels, oh,, and to start buying lottery tickets !
    And Dory,,,,”just keep on swimming, keep on swimming…..” ;)

    • haha … I will. And I hope you win enough to travel wherever you want :)

Leave a Reply

