Back to the real world

My first greetings card/postcard/etc design

I have had three days of just being able to concentrate on what I wanted to … this morning it’s back to work and it’s going to be busy, busy, busy.

The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee on Tuesday means everyone has been given an extra day’s Bank Holiday (Monday is already a Bank Holiday). This is a disaster.

Not the Jubilee … I like the Royal Family. But two consecutive Bank Holidays throw a huge number of spanners in the works, we still have papers to get out, and this means we are going to have to work longer hours than normal.

Usually, I expect to do between 45 and 50 hours a week over four days. That, I class as a good week. I don’t think this is going to be a good week. I’ve got as many people as they can working Bank Holiday on Tuesday because we still have deadlines.

So it’s 5am, I’m sitting in the garden at my laptop, Stanley is angry and chirping because I am disturbing his space.

Yesterday I went and took a few photos, I downloaded some information about UK Copyright Law, I bought a Christmas present and two books in a charity shop (HUGE fan of charity shops), I visited some local galleries and craft centres to see what they offered and whether there was anything I could do in that direction and I bought some card stock and plastic wrappers so I can use up some of the large number of craft items I have lying around the house and maybe make some money. Then I designed my first greeting card (I know it’s a bit rough around the edges) © Dory’s World. Words and pictures by me … all mine :)

Maybe this is something I could do, combining my love of photography and art with design and writing. It’s a thought, isn’t it?

I was feeling quite pleased with myself and then I fell off a kerb and broke my favourite sandals … haha, came back down to earth with a bump.

 

2 comments
  1. nikkix2 said:

    I think your idea of cards is awesome,,and something you can make money on! Your right, pick something that you love and like to do and it won’t actually feel like work.I really like your blog,,and one day when I finally get enough moola, to come to England, I would love to met you and have you take me to your favourite Pub.
    I love the Queen and her family and I’m watching as much of her Golden Jubilee as I can. Prince Charles and Camilla were just here last week :)
    P.S I’m going to add your Blog to my Blog Roll,,if that’s ok with you?

    • That’s great, thanks very much :)
      And you’d be more than welcome :) … nothing better than a good English pub

Leave a Reply

