Hold on, we’re heading for a better life

So I suppose my journey to a better life (the title’s from a Keith Urban song by the way) can be roughly split into four parts.

Me – the physical me.

I am unfit, overweight, don’t eat properly, which is bizarre as I love cooking, and I smoke.

I’m not telling you how much I weigh because I’m embarrassed. Suffice to say I would like to weigh around four stone less (and I still won’t be slim and sylph-like then).

My father, bless him, is very fond of telling people that I am the most intelligent person he knows. He was a rocket scientist and, although he’s very-obviously biased, this fills me with pride. Sadly, he always counters this compliment with one of two follow-up statements. Either “however, she is a complete slob” or “but let’s face it, she’s never going to be slim”!

Hmmm, watch the increasing space around me daddy dearest.

Personal finances – not so good

They’ve been worse, I have lost count of the number of times I’ve been taken to court for failing to pay my council tax on time – am currently completely up to date – and I earn a reasonably good amount of money (though I give blood, sweat and tears to get it).

But I have a loan and a credit card and the rent on a three-bedroom house costs me £1,000 per month. I need to cut my spending and improve my credit rating.

The future – where I want to be by the time I’m 50

I want to work for myself. I want to be able to live wherever I want and work from home. I want to buy a house of my own to share with Man. I want to be able to take a week off to play a new Xbox game or randomly go to the beach in the middle of February if I want. To do this I am going to need a cash sum of around £50,000 and Man and I need to generate a joint income of around £50,000 per year to enable me to quit my great-but-way-too-demanding current job.

Family – the important people in my life

Daughters one and two have been left a legacy by their father that equates to more than two years salary for each of them and is tax free. I want to see them settled and happy and independent.

Man’s son is currently looking for work and daughter is (when she can be bothered) at college. They need to be settled and happy too.

The Plan involves new home being populated by me and Man, and probably the three cats we have between us. Visitors will be welcome as long as they don’t stay permanently.

So, there it is. Life goals to be achieved by my 50th birthday.

Here we go.

1 comment
  1. Sharon said:

    Deb, Go for it , if anybody can, you can and I look forward to watching your journey unfold x

Leave a Reply

