Why I’m here

A quick synopsis.

In the last three years I have separated from my husband of more than 20 years, seen him jailed for trying to kill me, lost the house we owned to pay off all the debts, been divorced, had two operations requiring general anesthetic, been under threat of redundancy twice, been forced out of the house I was renting because it was repossessed from the landlord (I had no idea he had gone bankrupt) and watched my ex-husband sadly lose his long-term battle with alcoholism. He died last month.

In the last three years I have had the pleasure of continuing to live with my two amazing and gorgeous daughters (now 19 & 21), successfully held down a responsible and demanding job in the print media and worked (still work) with a team of people who are overworked and underpaid but talented, dedicated and full of humour and generosity, completed the first module of an Open University degree,  had the most incredible support from family and friends and met someone I want to spend the rest of my life with.

Life is a roller coaster, you’ve just gotta ride it.

So here’s the thing.

I have a great job, but it’s hugely demanding, very stressful and takes up too much time for me to have a proper life outside it.

I have a man I want to spend more time with but he lives in Nottinghamshire and I live in Hampshire so I see him on high days and holidays (and facetime him on the iPhones). Neither of us own our own homes. He is single parent to a son of 19 and daughter of 17.

I am unfit and overweight and don’t look after myself properly (my excuse is that I don’t have time).

My daughters, who both have long-standing and lovely boyfriends, will both fly the nest in the next few years to live their own lives.

I am 46. I want to buy a house, work for myself, radically improve my health and fitness and live the life I want to live with Man.

I am giving myself until I am 50 to achieve these goals and this blog will be my record of my progress.

Watch this space :)

5 comments
  1. Claire Cappetta said:

    I am here with you, looking forward to reading your posts as you travel your amazing journey to 50. Long distance relationships can be intense and incredible, I did but there was 3K and an ocean between at the start, now we have been together 10 years. Some of the things you talk about I can honestly say “been there, done that”.
    I believe you will have an amazing journey with your blog, as I have found, meeting wonderfully supportive people too.
    I wish you a wonderful weekend and thank you for finding me :)

  2. Thank you so much, I’m very grateful for your support and comment. So many people say long distance relationships don’t work but I honestly believe you can do anything if you put your mind to it :)

  3. Wow you have been through such a lot. I was in a long distance relationship with my now partner and soul mate. He was in England, I was in Australia. Hang in there, believe in yourself and you will achieve all your goals I’m sure. :)

    • Thanks :) I know people go through a lot worse though. And it certainly hasn’t been all bad. Thinking positively is the answer I reckon. I love your blog btw. It’s great.

Leave a Reply

